Christian Popkes

Popkes World of Imaging

Christian Popkes is the artistic director of PHOTOPIA Hamburg and a highly networked industry professional. He regularly shares his perspectives on current topics and trends in the international photo scene.

[Translate to EN:]
Foodporn, the environmental sow?

Dear PHOTOPIA family,

Digital Minister Dr. Volker Wissing recently officially exposed smartphotography, of all things, as an environmental sow: In the Q&A session of the closing press conference for the G7 digital ministers' meeting on May 11, he recommended doing without (quote) "superfluous…

Photographers for Charity

Dear PHOTOPIA Family,

sometimes photography gets out of focus and becomes a side issue. Especially when you actively follow the terrifying news from our neighbouring countries to the east. The humanitarian consequences for Ukrainians are devastating. Several million people are already on the run -…

[Translate to EN:]
The Next F* Thing

Dear PHOTOPIA Family

The market for photographic art has been booming for years. But while photo artists usually produce a print edition of their images to offer them physically, NFTs significantly expand the possibilities of marketing photographic art. In the case of a technically reproducible…

[Translate to EN:]
Momentum in the imaging industry

Dear PHOTOPIA family,

"Forecasts are difficult, especially when they concern the future" - this is a popular saying attributed to Mark Twain, Karl Valentin, Niels Bohr or even Winston Churchill. Today I am making it my own, because the first quarter of 2022 is coming to an end and the current…

[Translate to EN:]
Smart- & High End Photography

Dear PHOTOPIA Family,

 

The new year is still young, and yet there are already a few highly noteworthy developments. The first, major and important camera innovation in 2022 is undoubtedly the Leica M11. The fifth generation of digital rangefinder cameras from Wetzlar is certainly remarkable for…

[Translate to EN:]
Quo vadis Photo trade?

Dear PHOTOPIA Family,

 

Noboru Akabane, President and CEO of Ricoh Imaging, recently caused a stir with his thesis that "the traditional way of doing business, based on mass production and mass sales, is becoming less and less suited to recent changes in the market environment."

Bildnachweis: Porträt Christian Popkes: Copyright: Wolfgang Köhler

Christian Popkes

Popkes World of Imaging

Christian Popkes ist Künstlerischer Leiter der PHOTOPIA Hamburg und bestvernetzter Branchenprofi. Regelmäßig teilt er seine Perspektiven auf aktuelle Themen und Tendenzen der internationalen Fotoszene.

Photographers for Charity

Liebe PHOTOPIA Familie,

manchmal gerät die Fotografie aus dem Fokus und wird zur Nebensache. Besonders, wenn man die erschreckenden Nachrichten aus unseren östlichen Nachbarländern aktiv verfolgt. Die humanitären Folgen für die Ukrainer sind verheerend. Mehrere Millionen Menschen sind bereits auf…

The Next F* Thing

Liebe PHOTOPIA Familie,

der Markt für Fotokunst boomt seit Jahren. Doch während Fotokünstler in der Regel eine Printauflage ihrer Bilder produzieren, um diese physisch anzubieten, erweitern NFTs die Möglichkeiten der Vermarktung fotografischer Kunst erheblich. Bei einem technisch reproduzierbaren…

Momentum am Fotomarkt

Liebe PHOTOPIA Familie,

„Prognosen sind schwierig, besonders wenn sie die Zukunft betreffen“ – so lautet ein beliebtes Bonmot, das Mark Twain, Karl Valentin, Niels Bohr oder auch Winston Churchill zugeschrieben wird. Heute mache ich es mir zu eigen, denn das erste Quartal 2022 geht zu Ende und die…

Smart- & High End Photography

Liebe PHOTOPIA Familie,

 

das neue Jahr ist noch jung, und doch gibt es bereits ein paar höchst bemerkenswerte Entwicklungen. Die erste, große und wichtige Kameraneuheit 2022 ist zweifellos die Leica M11. Die fünfte Generation der digitalen Messsucherkameras aus Wetzlar ist sicher aus vielen…

Quo vadis Fotohandel?

Liebe PHOTOPIA Familie,

 

Noboru Akabane, Präsident und CEO von Ricoh Imaging, sorgte jüngst mit seiner These für Aufsehen, dass „die traditionelle Art der Geschäftstätigkeit, die auf Massenproduktion und Massenabsatz beruht, den jüngsten Veränderungen im Marktumfeld immer weniger gerecht wird“.

Bildnachweis: Porträt Christian Popkes: Copyright: Wolfgang Köhler